A person is required to obtain a valid fishing license prior to fishing in inland waters or transporting fish taken from inland waters. Maine residents under 16 years of age and nonresidents under 12 years of age may fish without a license. Unless otherwise specifically provided, all licenses expire on Dec. 31 of the calendar year for which they were issued.
A nonresident may exchange a 15-day license for a season license by paying another $19 (includes agent’s fee); a resident may exchange a one-day license for a season license by paying the agent’s fee plus the difference between that fee and the fee for the annual license. Fishing is permitted on lakes and ponds year-round in Hancock and Washington counties. From Aug. 16 to Sept. 30, rivers, brooks and streams are restricted to the use of artificial lures only. For information about catch limits and regulations pertaining to specific bodies of water, check with local wardens or call the regional office of Maine’s Fish and Wildlife headquarters at 287-8000. Licenses and information about fishing laws also are available at www.mefishwildlife.com.
Season fishing (16 yrs. and older) $66; one-day (24 hrs.) $13; 3-day (72 hrs.) $27; seven-day $44; 15-day $48; junior fishing (12-15 yrs.) $17.
Season fishing (16 yrs. and older) $26; one-day (24 hrs.) $12; serviceman (Maine resident permanently stationed outside the state) $5; serviceman dependent $12. Prices include agent’s fee.
Saltwater Recreational Fishing:
State legislation requires that all recreational resident and nonresident saltwater anglers (if they are not registered in another state) must register with the Department of Marine Resources or through a Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife agent. For more information, call the DMR at 624-6550.